Brothers of the Lambda Lambda Chapter are active in many student organizations at Indiana State University. From our fellow organizations in the School of Music, including Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia and Sigma Alpha Iota, to other social, professional, and honorary organizations, our brothers are engaged as leaders in our university and community. For exemplifying the purposes and ideals of Kappa Kappa Psi in their pursuit of excellent scholarship, musicianship, and service, many of our brothers have been recognized by their organizations and by the university.

The Gary Gartin Memorial Award for Outstanding Marching Band Member is awarded to the member of the Marching Sycamores who has provided outstanding service to the ensemble during the season, and has been awarded to nine brothers of the Lambda Lambda Chapter. The Lisa Simpson Memorial “Go Band!” Award, awarded to the marching band member who has shown the most enthusiasm and energy throughout the season, has been awarded to three brothers.

The Harold Bright Distinguished Service Medal is awarded to the senior who has given the greatest service to the university through participation in the bands, and has been awarded to eleven brothers since 2005, including concurrently to two brothers in 2006 and to three brothers in 2009.

Seven brothers have received the Barbara Booe Bushong Flute-Piccolo Award, awarded to a flute or piccolo player who has contributed the most to the university through participation in the Symphonic Band, Wind Orchestra, or Marching Sycamores.

The Joseph A. Gremelspacher University Bands Music Education Award, presented to the band member who has demonstrated the greatest potential as a music educator during their time at ISU, has been awarded to six brothers.

In 2014, Lambda-class brother Katie Runge became the first member of the Lambda Lambda Chapter to serve on the North Central District Council as district Vice President for Membership. She was honored in 2015 by the Indiana State University Alumni Association as one of four recipients of the Alan C. Rankin Distinguished Senior Award. The Rankin Award, which is named for Indiana State’s seventh president who served from 1965-1975, was established to recognize outstanding members of the senior class who have contributed to the betterment of campus life at Indiana State University and who have demonstrated dedicated membership and leadership ability in campus organizations and in the community.